Macrae's Home Online

The Pennine Way

Location: England (South to North along the Pennines) Distance: 271 miles (436km)

Fri 15 Sep Mini bus from The Alma PH, Chelmsford to Edale. B&B at Edale.

Sat 16 Sep Edale - Kinder Downfall - Mill Hill - A57 - Head - B6105 - A628 - Crowden (09:30-16:00) 15 miles Dinner B&B at Crowden Youth Hostel. Bus to/from the Gun Inn, Hyde for drinks.

Sun 17 Sep Crowden - Laddow Rocks - Black Hill - A635 - Black Moss Reservoir - Standedge (08:50-13:35) 11 miles Arrival drinks at the **** and the Floating Light. Dinner B&B at Standedge. Drinks at the Horse & Jockey. Mon 18 Sep Standedge - Millstone Edge - A640 - White Hill - A672 - Blackstone Edge - A58 - Stoodley Pike - Hebden Bridge. (08:45-15:45) 16 miles B&B at Hebden Bridge. Tue 19 Sep Hebden Bridge - Colden - Widdop Road - Withins - Colne - Ickornshaw Moor - A6068 - Lothersdale. (08:45-17:00) 19 miles B&B at Lothersdale. Drinks at the Hare & Hounds.

Wed 20 Sep Lothersdale - Pinhaw Beacon - Thornton in Craven - Gargrave - Airton Bridge - Hanlith Bridge - Malham. (09:15-16:35) 16 miles Dinner, B&B at Lister Arms Hotel, Malham.

Thu 21 Sep Malham - Arncliffe Road - Fountains Fell - Stainforth/Halton Gill Rd - Pen y ghynt - Horton in Ribblesdale (09:25-1535) 15 miles Dinner, B&B at the Crown Hotel, Horton in Ribblesdale (Ian joins).

Fri 22 Sep Horton in Ribblesdale - Sell Gill Holes - Old Ing Farm - Cam End - Kidhow Gate - Hawes. (09:35-13:55) 15 miles B&B at Hawes; fish & chip supper in local cafe. Sat 23 Sep Hawes - Hardrow - Great Shunner Fell - Thwaite - Keld - Tan Hill Inn. (09:10-15:05) 17 miles Dinner, B&B at Tan Hill Inn (caravan).

Sun 24 Sep Tan Hill Inn - Sleightholme - Race Yate - Blackton Bidger - Grassholme Bridge - Middleton in Teesdale. (09:35-15:40) 17 miles B&B at Middleton in Teesdale.

Mon 25 Sep Middleton in Teesdale - Wynch Bridge - High Force - Saur Hill - Cauldron Snout - Birkdale - High Cup - Dufton. (09:25-17:30) 22 miles Dinner B&B at Dufton. Drinks at the Stag Inn.

Tue 26 Sep Dufton - Knock Fell - Great Dun Fell - Little Dun Fell - Cross Fell - Garrigill - Sillyhall - Alston. (09:20-16:50) 21 miles Dinner B&B at the Blue Bell Inn, Alston. Wed 27 Sep Alston - Gilderdale Burn - Kirkhaugh - Slaggyford - Burnstones - Glendue Bridge - Lambley - Kellah Burn - Wain Rigg - Thirlwall. (09:30-17:00) 17 miles B&B at Thirlwall. Drinks at Bird in Bush Inn (?)

Thu 28 Sep Thirlwall - Thirlwall Castle - Aesica Roman Fort - Windshields Crag- Peel Road - Hotbank Grags - Rapishaw Gap - Warks Burn - Shitlington Hall - Bellingham. (08:50-16:50) 25 miles B&B at Bellingham. Booked into Riverdale Hall Hotel but they put us in an apartment in a house in the village. Later drinks at the village pub.

Fri 29 Sep Bellingham - Hareshaw - Lough Shaw - Deer Play - Lords Shaw - Gib Shiel Road - Padon Hill - Brownrigg Head - Rookengate - Blakesburnhaugh - Cottonshopeburn - Bryness. (09:55-14:35) 16 miles Dinner, B&B at Bryness Hotel.

Sat 30 Sep Bryness - Ravens Knowe - Chew Green - Lamb Hill - Beefstand Hill - Windy Gyle - Border Gate - Cairn Hill West - Auchope Cairn - The Schil - Burnhead - Kirk Yetholm. (07:00-16:25) 29 miles Dinner, B&B at the Border Hotel, Kirk Yetholm.

Sun 01 Oct Minibus from Kirk Yetholm to SCC.