Macrae's Home Online

Offa's Dyke-Wales/England border

Location: Wales (English border) Distance: 173 miles (278km)

Sat 20 Sep Train from London to Newport, then train from Newport to Chepstow. Chepstow - Tintern - Brockweir (lunch at the Brockweir Inn) - Monmouth 17 miles B&B in a Georgian terrace.

Sun 21 Sep Monmouth - Llangattock Lingoed - Pandy 16 miles B&B in Trewyn House, then Bruce & John walked to/from the Old Pandy Inn for drinks.

Mon 22 Sep Pandy - The Black Mountains - Hay on Wye 17 miles B&B Tue 23 Sep Hay on Wye - Gladestry (lunch at the Royal Oak ~ (“John Hume’s” pub) - Kington. B&B 14 miles

Wed 24 Sep Kington - Dolley Green - Knighton 14 miles Dinner B&B at the Golden Lion

Thu 25 Sep Knighton - Churchtown - Little Brompton 15 miles B&B at Little Brompton Farm (just past the Bluebell Inn). Bruce & JM walked back to the Bluebell Inn for evening drinks.

Fri 26 Set Little Brompton - Llanymynech 21 miles Dinner B&B at the Cross Key.

Sat 27 Sep Llanymynech - Froncysyllte 19 miles B&B at Argoed Farm. Drinks at the Telford Inn.

Sun 28 Sep Froncysyllte - Llanarmon-Yn-Lal 15 miles B&B in small bungalow (owners moved into caravan) Evening meal and drinks at the Raven Inn

Mon 29 Sep Llanarmon-Yn-Lal - Rhualt 17 miles B&B. Evening meal at the Smithy Arms

Tue 30 Sep Rhualt - Prestatyn 8 miles Train from Prestatyn to Crewe, train Crewe to London, then home.